Department of Medicine

Dr. K. Noko MBChB(UZ) FCP (SA) Specialist Medicine & Consultant

The Department of Medicine forms part of United Bulawayo Hospitals complex. It caters for medical services for the whole of Bulawayo and surrounding Matabeleland North and South, Masvingo and Midlands Provinces. It has a staff complement of 4 consultants, 5 House Officers and several Junior Resident Medical Officers. The Department provides in house training for both doctors and nurses and those interested in specializing in medicine.

The following services are provided by the Department of medicine:

Inpatient: two wards for female and male patients

1 ward for infectious diseases

The Intensive Care Unit: runs jointly with other departments ie Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology etc.

Outpatients Clinic: Minor ailments, chronic diseases and follow ups, Monday to Friday

Casualty Unit: For emergencies

Open 24/7 days

Opportunistic Infection Clinic (OIC): runs five days a week from Monday to Friday with counseling services

The department is supported in its efforts by a well-equipped X-Ray Unit, Laboratory facility, well stocked pharmacy and competent physiotherapists

Needless to say that a specialist Dermatologist physician in skin diseases consults two times per week